Do you need a permit for engagement photos?
In a national park, usually not: since January 2025, a session with eight or fewer people and handheld gear generally needs no permit or fee. A wedding ceremony still does, with a median application fee of $100 across the 30 parks we checked. Most botanical gardens charge for photo sessions, and state parks vary. Every row below links to the official page we checked.
Key facts
- Since January 2025, a portrait session in a national park with eight or fewer people and handheld gear generally needs no permit or fee, whether the photographer is paid or not.
- A wedding ceremony is different: all 30 parks we checked have a ceremony permit, with an application fee of $50 to $300 (median $100); 4 waive it for small, simple ceremonies.
- 3 of 30 park websites still describe the old rules or are unclear about the 2025 change.
- 18 of 26 botanical gardens require a paid permit or booking for a photo session; the median fee is $250.
- Park entrance fees still apply to photographers and couples, permit or not.
The 2025 national park rule
The EXPLORE Act, signed January 4, 2025, changed how the National Park Service handles photography. Its own summary:
“In most cases, permits and fees are not required for filming, still photography, or audio recording that involves eight or fewer individuals. In order to avoid permit and fee requirements, the filming, still photography, or audio recording must meet all of the following conditions: Occurs in areas open to the public; Uses hand-carried equipment only; Does not require exclusive use of a site; Does not adversely impact park resources, values, or other visitors; and Is not likely to result in additional administrative costs for the National Park Service.”
Paid and unpaid photographers are treated the same. Photography that is part of a permitted event, such as a wedding, never needs its own permit: “Permits and fees are never required for filming, still photography, or audio recording that is associated with an activity or event that has been authorized under a written instrument (e.g., permit or agreement), such as a wedding, sporting event, demonstration or other activity.” (National Park Service, updated March 17, 2025).
Not every park has caught up. 3 of the 30 park websites we checked still describe older rules or don’t mention the change (Blue Ridge Parkway, Cape Cod, Arches), and some parks add their own conditions for crowded areas or tripods. That is what the table records.
National parks: portraits and ceremonies
30 heavily visited National Park Service sites couples use for photos, chosen from 2024 visitor numbers. “Portrait session” is a hired photographer with a couple, handheld gear. Ceremony fees are the application fee; other fees are listed where the park states them.
| Park | Portrait session | Ceremony permit | Guests, lead time | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acadia National ParkME · entry $35/vehicle | No permitNo extra photo conditions; Cadillac Summit Road needs a $6 vehicle reservation May to October. | $125 application$6 Cadillac Summit Road reservation (May-October)Exempt: 10 or fewer people, simple ceremony | Up to 50 guests1 year to 72 hours ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Arches National ParkUT · entry $30/vehicle | Unclear: ask the parkThe FAQ still says all commercial photography needs a permit; the filming page only names the 2025 law. | $185 applicationMonitoring cost recovery, quoted at issuance | Up to 80 guestsUp to 1 year ahead; no minimum stated | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Badlands National ParkSD · entry $30/vehicle | Unclear: ask the parkStates the 8-or-fewer rule, but the same page still lists wedding photos as a permit short-form event. | $100 applicationOther administrative fees may apply (no amounts given)Exempt: Under 12 people per compendium; permits page disagrees | No stated limit45 days ahead | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Blue Ridge ParkwayNC/VA · no entrance fee | Unclear: ask the parkFilming page only says some photography needs a permit and asks you to email the parkway; no portrait guidance. | $75 application+$75 administrative fee ($150 total) | Up to 25 guestsAt least 30 days ahead; 60 recommended | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Bryce Canyon National ParkUT · entry $35/vehicle | No permitNo portrait-specific rules beyond the 8-or-fewer rule; ceremonies are limited to Sunset Point. | $100 applicationGuests pay entrance; only the couple and officiant are waived | Up to 30 guestsProcessing takes 2-4 weeks | nps.gov · 2 |
| Cape Cod National SeashoreMA · entry $25/vehicle | Unclear: ask the parkThe 2022 filming page still uses old permit rules; the 2026 compendium uses the 8-or-fewer rule. | $50 applicationMonitoring cost recovery; a ranger may be required at your cost | No stated limitAt least 14 days; no more than 1 year ahead | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Capitol Reef National ParkUT · entry $20/vehicle | No permitSays portrait subjects such as wedding parties are not models, so portrait sessions need no permit. | $100 applicationPossible restroom cost recovery for 20+ people | Up to 100 guests1 year to 7 days ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Cuyahoga Valley National ParkOH · no entrance fee | No permit, with conditionsTripods, monopods and handheld lighting need a permit (2026 compendium). | $75 applicationShelter rental for 20+ people: $80 weekdays, $110 weekends | No stated limitAt least 30 days; up to 1 year ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Death Valley National ParkCA/NV · entry $30/vehicle | No permitSays engagement and wedding portraits need no permit. | $300 applicationMonitoring about $50/hour plus $0.55/mile, by group size | No stated limitAt least 30 days ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Gateway Arch National ParkMO · no entrance fee | No permit, with conditionsThe 2026 compendium says a tripod, monopod or handheld lighting needs a permit. | $200 application | No stated limit | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Glacier National ParkMT · entry $35/vehicle | No permitCommercial photography tours are not allowed; couples may take photos anywhere open to the public. | $125 applicationMonitor may be required over 20 people (cost not stated) | Up to 250 guestsUp to 1 year ahead; 4+ weeks recommended | nps.gov · 2 |
| Golden Gate National Recreation AreaCA · no entrance fee | No permitNo extra photo conditions; the Presidio interior and Golden Gate Bridge are run by other agencies. | $60 applicationEvent cost recovery by tier from $120; staff time $100/hour | No stated limitUp to 1 year ahead; no last-minute requests | nps.gov · 2 |
| Grand Canyon National ParkAZ · entry $35/vehicle | No permitNo portrait-specific rules beyond the 8-or-fewer rule; drones are banned parkwide. | $70 application+$210 management fee ($280 total) | Up to 250 guestsUp to 1 year ahead; no expedited requests | nps.gov · 2 |
| Grand Teton National ParkWY · entry $35/vehicle | No permitNo portrait-specific rules; paid photo workshops and tours need a separate business permit. | $200 applicationReprocessing fee for changes; entrance fees for all guests | Up to 40 guestsAt least 30 days; 2027 opens Dec 3, 2026 | nps.gov · 2 |
| Great Smoky Mountains National ParkTN/NC · no entrance fee | No permitA parking tag ($5/day) is still required; portrait subjects are not treated as models. | $50 applicationProcessing cost recovery; $5/day parking tag per vehicle | Up to 50 guests12 months to 30 days ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Haleakalā National ParkHI · entry $30/vehicle | No permit, with conditionsNo filming off trail or of people in streams or pools; sunrise visits need a $1 reservation. | $150 application$1 sunrise reservation; monitoring billed at actual time | Up to 25 guestsAt least 3 weeks ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Hot Springs National ParkAR · no entrance fee | Unclear: ask the parkThe 2025 filming page states the new rule, but a 2021 fee page still says still photography needs a permit. | $100 applicationMinimum $150 cost recovery; monitoring about $50/hour | Up to 200 guestsUp to 1 year ahead; about 10 working days | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Indiana Dunes National ParkIN · entry $25/vehicle | No permit, with conditionsAn older wedding FAQ says reflectors, lights or props need a separate photography permit. | $65 application$200 for complex events; ranger monitoring $60-$100/hour | No stated limit30 days to 12 months ahead | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Joshua Tree National ParkCA · entry $30/vehicle | Unclear: ask the parkPage states the 8-or-fewer rule but keeps an older exemptions list that reads as if paid sessions need a permit. | $120 applicationEntrance fees not waived for participants or guests | Up to 100 guests15 days to 12 months ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Lake Mead National Recreation AreaNV/AZ · entry $25/vehicle | No permit, with conditionsProps, sets or lighting may need a permit, and shoots in wilderness areas need one at any group size. | $150 applicationPossible cost recovery; entrance fees not waived | No stated limit45 business days ahead | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Mount Rainier National ParkWA · entry $30/vehicle | No permit, with conditionsShoots in very high-visitation spots may need a permit; handheld tripods and lighting are allowed. | $50 application+$275 management fee | No stated limitAt least 72 hours; up to 1 year ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| New River Gorge National Park and PreserveWV · no entrance fee | No permitAsks photographers to call ahead to avoid clashes with other activities, even when no permit is needed. | $75 applicationMonitoring $65/hour if needed; a bond may be required | Up to 25 guestsAt least 10 business days to process | nps.gov · 2 |
| Olympic National ParkWA · entry $30/vehicle | No permitNo portrait-specific rules; entrance fees still apply when no permit is needed. | $50 applicationExempt: 5 or fewer people, photographer counted | Up to 50 guestsAt least 1 month ahead; up to 1 year | nps.gov · 2 |
| Redwood National and State ParksCA · no entrance fee | No permitRule covers national park land only; state park land goes through the California Film Commission. | $100 application$200 at non-pre-approved sites; monitoring billed hourly | Up to 20 guestsAt least 14 days (pre-approved sites) | nps.gov · 2 |
| Rocky Mountain National ParkCO · entry $30/vehicle | No permitPortrait permits ended; photographer and clients each pay entrance and need summer timed-entry reservations. | $300 applicationEntrance fees for all vehicles; reception needs a separate permit | Up to 30 guestsUp to 1 year ahead, at least 7 days before | nps.gov · 2 |
| Sequoia & Kings Canyon National ParksCA · entry $35/vehicle | No permitThe wedding page says photo-only shoots may need a permit; the film page applies the 8-or-fewer rule. | $150 applicationEntrance fees not waived for participants or guests | No stated limitAt least 60 days ahead; up to 1 year | nps.gov · 2 |
| Shenandoah National ParkVA · entry $30/vehicle | No permitStates plainly that groups of 8 or fewer with hand-carried gear need no permit; drones are banned. | $150 applicationCost recovery about $50/hour plus $0.70/mileExempt: 15 or fewer people, no props, decor or music | Up to 30 guestsAt least 30 days ahead recommended | nps.gov · 2 |
| Yellowstone National ParkWY, MT, ID · entry $35/vehicle | No permit, with conditionsOld Faithful, Grand Prismatic and other busy overlooks may need a permit even for small groups. | $250 applicationMammoth Chapel: $300 fee plus a required monitor | Up to 250 guestsAt least 10 business days ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
| Yosemite National ParkCA · entry $35/vehicle | No permitStates the 8-or-fewer rule at the top, though the filming page keeps some older permit text below it. | $150 applicationMonitor $50/hour for larger outdoor groups | Up to 100 guestsUp to 1 year ahead, more than 21 days before | nps.gov · 2park pages are ambiguous |
| Zion National ParkUT · entry $35/vehicle | No permit, with conditionsNo photo shoots in wilderness (most slot canyons), on Angels Landing, the West Rim Trail or the Narrows. | $100 application$50/hour after 2 hours; monitors $50/hour if required | Up to 100 guestsAt least 3 weeks ahead | nps.gov · 2 |
Botanical gardens
Gardens are private or nonprofit and set their own rules. Most sell a photo permit or a booked time slot, and many limit props, tripods and group size. The median session fee among those that state one is $250.
| Garden | Sessions | Fee | Booking | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brooklyn Botanic GardenBrooklyn, NY | Permit or booking requiredSecurity-escorted 60-minute sessions; no indoor photos; tripods need permit approval in some areas; drones banned. | $366 for up to 25 people, 60 minutes | First come, first served; no minimum stated | bbg.org · 2 |
| New York Botanical GardenBronx, NY | Permit or booking requiredDesignated seasonal areas only, with group caps of 4 to 15; areas stay open to the public. | No fee published; every request needs NYBG approval | At least 2 weeks ahead | nybg.org |
| Longwood GardensKennett Square, PA | Permit or booking requiredStaff escort every session; props, signs, wardrobe changes and on-site hair or makeup banned; tripods outdoors only. | $250 (1-4 guests) to $750 (21-30), 90 min; covers photographer only, + admission | At least 4 weeks ahead; no same-day permits | longwoodgardens.org · 2 |
| Chicago Botanic GardenGlencoe, IL | Permit or booking required1.5-hour sessions; no indoor or greenhouse shoots; no props, furniture or outfit changes; drones banned. | $250; includes admission and parking for two vehicles | Preregister online; no permits sold on site | chicagobotanic.org · 2 |
| Missouri Botanical GardenSt. Louis, MO | Allowed, no permitOutdoors only; no lighting or reflectors; no outdoor outfit changes; no shoots during Garden Glow or other signature events. | No fee for personal photos + admission; formal shoots need a permit (price not published) | Formal-photo permits at least 24 hours ahead | missouribotanicalgarden.org · 2 |
| Atlanta Botanical GardenAtlanta, GA | Permit or booking requiredPeak months (Mar-Jun, Sep-Oct) Tuesday-Friday only; no after-hours shoots; props and vendors banned. | $500 for 2 hours, includes admission for up to 10; extra guests $32 each | 2 weeks ahead via the Special Events Office | atlantabg.org |
| Denver Botanic Gardens (York Street)Denver, CO | Permit or booking requiredRequired even for non-professionals; no shoots at Blossoms of Light or ticketed events; no balloons, petals or rice. | $150 for 1-6 people, 2 hours, includes admission; +$25 per extra person | 1 week to 1 month ahead, online | botanicgardens.org |
| Desert Botanical GardenPhoenix, AZ | Allowed, no permitStay on trails. From the venue FAQ; no standalone portrait policy page was found. | No session fee stated + admission for everyone in the party | No reservation needed | dbg.org |
| The Huntington Library, Art Museum and Botanical GardensSan Marino, CA | Permit or booking requiredEscorted; outdoor gardens only, no interiors; start by 3.5 hours before sunset; sessions up to 3 hours. | $1,200 for 5 or fewer, with required escort; +$125 to +$500 for larger groups | At least 30 days ahead; rush fee for less | huntington.org |
| Descanso GardensLa Canada Flintridge, CA | Permit or booking requiredTripods allowed off paths and beds; no lights, reflectors, props, signs, flowers or costume changes. | $300 (1-5 people) to $700 (16-20) | Reserve online; same-day if available | descansogardens.org · 2 |
| San Francisco Botanical GardenSan Francisco, CA | Permit or booking requiredTripods allowed in the garden but not the Conservatory of Flowers; no amplified sound; portraits not named directly. | SF Rec and Park permit for paid shoots; no fee stated | Not stated | gggp.org |
| Dallas Arboretum and Botanical GardenDallas, TX | Allowed, no permitTripods, reflectors and lighting only 3-5pm in the Main Garden; no pro shoots before 9am; drones banned. | No extra fee for handheld photography + admission and parking | Not stated | dallasarboretum.org · 2 |
| Fort Worth Botanic GardenFort Worth, TX | Permit or booking requiredFee allows tripods and a wardrobe change; no passes during the Japanese Festivals; no balloons, petals or confetti. | $30 per 2 hours + admission | No booking; last pass 2 hours before closing | fwbg.org |
| Bellingrath Gardens and HomeTheodore, AL | Permit or booking requiredNo evening photography during Magic Christmas in Lights; no confetti; nothing hung from plants; drones banned. | Fee by quote; $25 cancellation fee within 48 hours | At least 5 business days ahead | bellingrath.org |
| Magnolia Plantation and GardensCharleston, SC | Allowed, no permitThe site does not say whether the package is required for portrait sessions. | $250 package: full day for up to 4 people, photographer included | Not stated | magnoliaplantation.com · 2 |
| Sarah P. Duke GardensDurham, NC | Permit or booking requiredGolden hour costs $50 more; one session per photographer per day; required for amateurs too; tripods stay on paths. | $100-$300 by day, time and group size; admission is free | At least 1 week to process | gardens.duke.edu · 2 |
| FiloliWoodside, CA | Allowed, no permitPass allows one tripod, reflector and light plus hand-carried props, up to 5 people; no flash or tripods in the House. | Handheld photos free + admission; tripod or light needs a $200-$250 pass | Pass subject to daily availability | filoli.org |
| Lewis Ginter Botanical GardenRichmond, VA | Permit or booking requiredStart times 9am-3:30pm; no florals, props, changing tents or drones; no indoor spaces or Conservatory. | $100 for 90 minutes ($50 members) + admission | Walk-up or scheduled; no minimum stated | lewisginter.org |
| Santa Barbara Botanic GardenSanta Barbara, CA | Permit or booking requiredRequired even if a friend takes the photos; outfit changes only in public restrooms; stay on paths. | $100 for 2 hours, photographer plus 5 people, + admission | Not stated | sbbotanicgarden.org |
| Rotary Botanical GardensJanesville, WI | Permit or booking requiredRegular hours only; props, furniture and luggage banned; no changing facilities; one weather reschedule. | $50 per 1-hour session; includes admission for photographer + 2 | At least 1 week ahead | rotarybotanicalgardens.org |
| The Morton ArboretumLisle, IL | Permit or booking requiredBlackouts April 18, Dec 25 and 4-9pm during Illumination; no shoots in the Maze, Children's Garden or buildings. | $125 (1-4) to $325 (11-25), 1 hour; includes admission and parking | In advance; released 2 months at a time | mortonarb.org |
| Cheekwood Estate & GardensNashville, TN | Permit or booking requiredTuesday-Friday in peak months; props, music and pop-up ceremonies banned; off grounds by 3:30pm during Holiday LIGHTS. | $550 for 2 hours, includes admission for 6; +$100 on weekends | At least 3 days ahead; no walk-ups | cheekwood.org · 2 |
| Fairchild Tropical Botanic GardenCoral Gables, FL | Permit or booking requiredSessions between 10am and 3pm; permit details are sent after scheduling. | Fee not published; admission does not cover the permit | 7-10 days notice; no walk-ins | fairchildgarden.org |
| Bok Tower GardensLake Wales, FL | Allowed, no permitNo after-hours shoots; props, drones, confetti, glitter and balloons banned; stay on paths. | No session fee + admission (adult $25) | Not stated | boktowergardens.org · 2 |
| Portland Japanese GardenPortland, OR | Not allowedBans engagement, wedding, graduation and headshot photos. | Portrait sessions not allowed; tripods $10 per person | Not stated | japanesegarden.org |
| The Butchart GardensBrentwood Bay, BC, Canada | Not allowedEngagement not named, but hired sessions count as professional shoots; wedding photos Jan 15-Mar 21, 2027 by arrangement. | Professional photo shoots not permitted | Not stated | butchartgardens.com |
State parks
The system-wide rule for a hired photographer doing a couple’s session. Individual parks can add their own rules, so check the park too.
| State | Hired photographer | Fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York | Permit or booking requiredRun by regional offices; the Long Island region says engagement and wedding photos need a permit; insurance may be required. | Location fee and direct costs set per permit; entry fees still apply | parks.ny.gov · 2 |
| Virginia | Permit or booking requiredA paid portrait session counts as commercial; get a special use permit from the individual park. | No fee published | dcr.virginia.gov |
| North Carolina | Permit or booking requiredPaid engagement and wedding sessions need a park permit (2 weeks ahead) and a state film agreement (1 week ahead). | Set by the park superintendent | ncparks.gov |
| Washington | Permit or booking requiredApply 60 days ahead; $1M liability insurance required; portrait sessions are not named. | $100 application; annual still permit for all parks, no location fee | parks.wa.gov · 2 |
| Arizona | Allowed, no permitCommercial photographers and film companies still need a permit application. | No permit for personal photos, including engagement | azstateparks.com |
| Colorado | UnclearProfessional wedding and special-event photos may need a permit; check the specific park's page. | Set by each park | cpw.state.co.us |
| Pennsylvania | Permit or booking requiredRequest 15 days ahead (simple) or 90 days (complex); portrait sessions are not singled out. | $100 admin fee for complex requests; simple fee not stated; use fees possible | pa.gov |
| California | Permit or booking requiredProfessional photographers offering services need a California Film Commission permit plus local park approval; personal photos need none. | No CFC processing fee; State Parks review fee set by the project | parks.ca.gov · 2 |
| Texas | Permit or booking requiredCommercial still photography needs a media production application, 90+ days ahead; only non-commercial visitor photos are exempt. | Flat fee or percentage of gross revenue, set per contract | tpwd.texas.gov |
| Georgia | Permit or booking requiredProfessional photography needs a commercial film/photography application, sent at least 10 business days ahead. | $200 processing fee on approved applications, plus a location fee | gastateparks.org · 2 |
| Oregon | UnclearPermit needed for commercial shoots with props, sets, lighting or sound; handheld portraits not addressed, so ask the park. | $100 application fee plus $100/day commercial photo fee (1-5 people) | stateparks.oregon.gov · 2 |
Before the shoot
- Pay the entrance fee. A photo permit, or no permit, doesn’t cover entry for you, guests or the photographer.
- Keep the group to eight or fewer in a national park, including the photographer and anyone helping, to stay under the no-permit rule.
- Leave stands, lights and props at home unless the place allows them, and stay on trails and open areas.
- Avoid the busiest viewpoints at peak hours; some parks require a permit in high-traffic areas even for small groups. A sunrise session helps: see the golden hour calculator.
- For a ceremony, apply early: popular parks book out months ahead, and some are already full for 2026.
Method
On October 18, 2026 we read each park’s filming and photography page and its weddings or special-use page on nps.gov, and each garden’s and state park system’s own photography policy. Values are what those pages say; where a page is silent we leave the cell blank, and where pages disagree we mark the row. We don’t give legal advice: confirm with the park or garden before the shoot. We re-check the table each year before peak season. More on how we research our guides.
Questions about photo permits
Do you need a permit for engagement photos in a national park?
Usually not, since January 2025. The National Park Service says permits and fees are generally not required for still photography by eight or fewer people using hand-carried equipment in areas open to the public, without exclusive use of a site. Of 30 parks we checked, 16 say so without extra conditions and 8 add conditions such as busy areas or tripods. Entrance fees still apply.
Do you need a permit to get married in a national park?
Yes, almost always. Ceremonies need a special use permit. Across the 30 parks we checked, the application fee runs $50 to $300, with a median of $100, and some parks add site or monitoring fees. 4 parks waive the permit for very small, simple ceremonies. Photos taken as part of a permitted ceremony need no separate photo permit.
Do botanical gardens charge for engagement photos?
Most do. 18 of the 26 gardens we checked require a paid photo permit or a booked session, with a median fee of $250, often plus admission for each person. 2 don’t allow professional sessions at all.
Do you need a permit for photos in a state park?
It depends on the state. 8 of the 11 state park systems we checked require a permit for a hired photographer; some issue an annual photographer permit, and some leave it to each park. Check the specific park before the shoot.
Can our photographer bring a tripod or lights?
The national park small-group rule covers hand-carried equipment. Some parks treat a tripod, light stand or reflector as needing a permit; others explicitly allow a tripod. Gardens often ban tripods, props and stands. Check the row for your place, and ask if unsure.
Sources
Each table row links to its own official source. Overall sources:
- National Park Service, filming and still photography permits · updated March 17, 2025
- NPS Visitor Use Statistics, 2024 Statistical Abstract, Table 4 (recreation visits by park) · 2024 visits